$2.9 Million for Spilled Coffee and other AWESOME STORIES!

This week I had the pleasure of encountering some really amazing stories that have touched human lives and emotions at so many levels. These stories moved me, touched my heart and really got me thinking. I couldn’t wait for the end of the week to share ’em with everyone.

Perhaps you have already heard about these extraordinary folks and know their story. How did it make you feel? Let me know in comments. 🙂

Those who haven’t – be prepared to shed a few tears.

STORY 1: On Everlasting Love

“Love is not an equation, it is not a contract, and it is not a happy ending. Love is the slate under the chalk, the ground that buildings rise, and the oxygen in the air. It is the place you come back to, no matter where your headed”
― Jodi Picoult

The Battle We Didn’t Choose

From summertime beers and beach days to a gravestone marked with his wife’s name, ‘The Battle We Didn’t Choose’ showcases Angelo Merendino and his late wife’s experience with breast cancer. Merendino is compiling the images into a book.

Jen-waiting-for-doctor---Tryptych.jpg

My name is Jennifer and I have Breast Cancer

A husband’s poignant photo series documents the intimate moments of his wife’s fight with breast cancer — and her death.

It is what great love stories are made up of. Some would call it “true love”. I say it’s just “love”. The actions that we take in love are great, which make a “great” love story. Read more about this amazing love story, told through pictures – my wife’s fight with breast cancer

Jennifer Merendino’s grave in Akron, Ohio.

“Love every morsel of the people in your life.” – Jennifer Merendino

quo

STORY 2: On Kindness

“Carry out a random act of kindness, with no expectation of reward, safe in the knowledge that one day someone might do the same for you.” Princess Diana

The woman on the left is a mother from Miami who was so desperate to feed her hungry family that she was trying to steal a lot of food.
The woman on the right is Miami-Dade County Police Officer Vicki Thomas. Officer Thomas was about to arrest Jessica Robles but changed her mind at the last minute.

Instead of arresting her, she bought Robles $100 worth of groceries:

“I made the decision to buy her some groceries because arresting her wasn’t going to solve the problem with her children being hungry.”

And there’s no denying they were hungry. Robles’ 12 year old daughter started crying when she told local TV station WSVN about how dire their situation was:

“[It’s] not fun to see my brother in the dirt hungry, asking for food, and we have to tell him, ‘There is nothing here.’”

Officer Thomas says she has no question that what she did was right:

“To see them go through the bags when we brought them in, it was like Christmas. That $100 to me was worth it.”

But Officer Thomas did have one request:

“The only thing I asked of her is, when she gets on her feet, that she help someone else out. And she said she would.”

And guess what? The story gets even better.

After word got out about what happened people donated another $700 for Jessica Robles to spend at the grocery store.

And then best of all a local business owner invited her in for an interview and ended up hiring her on the spot as a customer service rep.

She started crying when he told her:

“There’s no words how grateful I am that you took your time and helped somebody out. Especially somebody like me.”

And to think it all started with one veteran police officer trusting her “instinct” instead of going “by the book”.

STORY 3: On Human Apathy

“I have a very strong feeling that the opposite of love is not hate – it’s apathy. It’s not giving a damn.” Leo Buscaglia

How A $2.9 Million Jury Verdict Over Spilled Coffee Became America’s Most Misunderstood Story

At the outset the “Hot Coffee,” case sounds like one of those frivolous lawsuits. However, there is more than what meets the eye.

This is the case of Stella Liebeck v. McDonald’s, where an elderly woman sued the fast food giant for giving her a cup of coffee that was so hot that it burned her. The case was widely dismissed by the media as ridiculous, even being mocked by David Letterman and on the popular show “Seinfeld.”  A former plaintiff attorney, Susan Saladoff explains, “when individuals take on corporations, their stories are often warped or twisted so they’ll be dismissed as frivolous”. Before you read on, I suggest you watch the video here first – The Million Dollor Coffee Case

Stella’s case taught me something – to not get carried away by anything that I read in the paper or on social platforms. I must apply my mind, learn the complete facts and then react or take action. And if I can’t see things in totality, I should refrain from passing personal objections or judgement.

I realize that it is so easy for us to reprimand or exalt people from the comfort of our desk without knowing that our one voice/statement adds up to those million other voices and god forbid if we are unknowingly or unintentionally on the wrong side, imagine the devastating impact it can have on the lives of those individuals who have been wronged.  Stella’s story is a telling case. Therefore, after watching and reading about this matter, I have made a conscious decision that I would remain silent than react. I must educate myself before taking on any kind of stand, even if the majority compels me to think in a certain way.

Liebeck v. McDonald's Restaurants

Just one of the things that Stella had to face #ridicule #sad

The media has the power to influence but it is up to us to decide whether we should get influenced or not. I do understand it’s hard because most of us in our regular jobs don’t have the luxury of time to learn every factual element of a case. But to rubbish something off as frivolous and make derogatory comments or judgments at the expense of other is not acceptable. We must learn to cultivate a value system within ourselves and in our children, which allows us to question and make educated decisions. We must always question than accept anything at just face value. Stella’s case taught me that.

One thought on “$2.9 Million for Spilled Coffee and other AWESOME STORIES!

  1. So totally unrelated, but I just saw the comment you left (in August) on my blog post “Don’t Shoot the Perv” (I never check my comments; I sometimes forget that people read my blog lol) and you are absolutely free to repost! I am definitely going to check out your blog too =)

Leave a Reply

