Practicing Detachment

Greatest of sages including Lord Buddha believe that attachment to our feelings, desires, emotions and possessions is the root cause of our misery.

 

I agree. Everyday I carry a baggage of fear and insecurity in my heart and mind. Why? Because I don’t want to lose what I love. Attachment creates this fear of loss and fear of loss creates further anxiety and misery.  The list of people and objects that we love is endless. We fear losing our job, wealth, success, prosperity, materialistic possessions, loved ones et all. Even though we  know that nothing lasts forever; everything is transient, yet we continue to hold onto what we have and possess. And, yet, we experience some sort of loss every now and then.

So, I think, is it possible to love and appreciate our friends, our family, possessions without being attached to them? Can we possess and yet be able to let go when we have to?

Can you step back from you own mind and thus understand all things? Giving birth and nourishing, having without possessing, acting with no expectations, leading and not trying to control.” Lao Tzu

Many of us can’t seem to grasp the idea of non-attachment. People, think it means to be indifferent. It is definitely not indifference. People who are indifferent, do not care about anything, and are cold.  I could not understand it at first but now through my daily practice of Buddhism, I am developing the wisdom and the art of distancing myself from my emotions and be a mere witness. It’s hard; to not allow yourself to be consumed by thoughts and feelings.I am not saying I am at the level where  where I can leave or be left by those I love without feeling sad. I really believe it takes time and practice, but I am definitely in a head space where I can ‘let go’ without losing my mind over it. I still love my home, my family and friends but at the same time I remind myself to not be attached to an extent that I drown myself in misery, if I lose any of them. Practicing detachment to me is not being indifferent, it is simply being more ‘accepting’ of the events and people in my life and to be centered. It is is an inner state of calmness and being un-involved on the emotional and mental planes.

So, I make a conscious effort to be more accepting of who I am at the moment, with what I do and what I have, and I express my gratitude for everything that I have achieved so far, for the wonderful people that are present in my life and for the wonderful people that keep on showing up, for the wonderful person I have become.
 
“Things arise and she lets them come; things disappear and she lets them go. She has but doesn’t possess, acts but doesn’t expect.” Lao Tzu.
4 thoughts on “Practicing Detachment

  1. Pingback: Glorious Moments v My Monster Mind | bourbontea

Leave a Reply

