Top 10 Resources To Empower Girls: Teaching Sexual Abuse Prevention Through Story

Preventing Abuse

Preventing Abuse

I came across this post yesterday on TowardstheStars and thought it is a must share on Cupcake ‘n’ Sunshine. Especially because this is a subject I feel very strongly about and intend to work more towards creating awareness in this direction. I am so glad there are books which help teach kids about body safety. This is great stuff. To know more, do click on the link below under ‘source’ which will take you to the site.

Some Secrets Should Never Be Kept

Screen shot 2013-04-05 at 4.29.40 PM

Tornado Warning: A Memoir of Teen Dating Violence and Its Effect On A Woman’s Life

 Screen shot 2013-04-05 at 4.30.10 PM

My Body Is Private 

Screen shot 2013-04-05 at 4.30.01 PM

Please Tell!: A Child’s Story About Sexual Abuse

Screen shot 2013-04-05 at 4.29.53 PM

 I Said No! A kid-to-kid guide to keeping your private parts private

Screen shot 2013-04-05 at 4.30.48 PM

 It’s My Body

Screen shot 2013-04-05 at 4.30.39 PM

My Body Belongs To Me

Screen shot 2013-04-05 at 4.31.02 PM

 The Right Touch: A Read-Aloud Story to Help Prevent Child Sexual Abuse

Screen shot 2013-04-05 at 5.00.36 PM

 My Privates Are Private

Screen shot 2013-04-05 at 5.12.36 PM

 Your Body Belongs To You

Screen shot 2013-04-05 at 4.30.26 PM

Guest post by Jayneen Sanders (re-post from TowardstheStars)

As parents and teachers, we happily instruct children in road safety and water safety; we teach about stranger danger, and with older children we teach them about the dangers of drug and alcohol abuse. But my concern, as both a mother and a teacher, has always been with our little ones — I’m talking about children from 3 to 10 years olds. And in particular, younger children who just want to be good and do what the ‘big person’ says. I believe we can reduce these horrific statistics, if we just teach body safety to the kids in our care. Knowledge is powerful and forewarned is forearmed!

Teaching body safety is not rocket science. It can be simple, non-threatening but the knowledge a child gains from such instruction is very powerful. This knowledge just may prevent a child from a lifetime of ongoing trauma. Too often I have heard survivors of childhood sexual abuse say — if only someone had told me it was wrong, I would have spoken up.

Story is an excellent medium to talk about difficult topics, such as inappropriate touch, with very young children.

Towards the Stars is a great source for finding gifts, products and all things inspirational for children.

Source:

10 thoughts on “Top 10 Resources To Empower Girls: Teaching Sexual Abuse Prevention Through Story

  1. I think those books are great for both boys and girls! I have wondered how to explain that sort of thing to a young child and now I know! I’m going to get one of those books to read with my son. Thanks for sharing.

    • I couldn’t agree more. I remember being told exactly that – don’t talk to strangers and that’s it or even better “don’t hang out with bad boys”. I remember being literally squeezed by one of the male relatives on the pretext of giving me a ‘hug’. I just didn’t understand how to express it to my parents but I knew it was unpleasant and didn’t want him to do that. Sadly, everyone thought it was funny! Grrrr! I am so glad we have such literature which can help children exercise body safety without really messing up their head.

      • Same here love. Growing in a cultural (Africa) where everyone fron your tribe is your ‘relative’ and not to mention those bastatrds of so called uncles, we were never safe and the fact that family/tribe ties is so important in our culture it made every even worse. See these type of books makes me want to cry as it brings painful memories 😥 but so glad to know at least some children with the right guidance and protection, they won’t have to experience this.

  2. Pingback: The Best Moment Award | mummy flying solo

  3. Pingback: 3 Steps to Teaching Touching Safety Rules to Children |

Leave a Reply

